UVa – the bridge to a new world, by Nguyen Thi Thuy Linh

My name is Nguyen Thi Thuy Linh. I am a student in Vietnam National University – Hanoi University of Science. I want to show you a great deal of amazing experience that I gained during the time living and studying in the University of Valladolid (UVa).

The first experience of mine is learning how to adapt with the climate. Valladolid is a city has the climate totally different from my country. In the winter, it was freezing cold and dry but rarely snowy.  I could not wear any T-shirt till the end of April. This weather made us always go shoulder by shoulder, hand by hand to get warmer – the weather brought us close together. I was quite confident to say that I can even move to Arctic to live after I experienced the weather in Valladolid.

ttl1

A snowy day in Spain which rarely occur

My second experience is learning something new. I not only took a huge advantage from the Industrial engineering semester in the UVa but also emerged in a unique culture of Spain in which Valladolid is such an ideal place to explore. During the semester, I was impressed with the enthusiasm and the friendliness of all professors as well as their willingness to help me for any doubt. I truly appreciate to professor Margarita Mediavilla Pascual in System dynamics and simulation class, group of professors Pedro Garcia Encina, Raquel Lebrero, Julián M. Pérez and Fernando A. Frechoso in Environment and renewable energy class, professor María Isabel Jiménez in Technical project class, professor María in Spanish class, and finally my supervisor Sara Isabel Pérez Elvira who guided me in the final project.

ttl2

My professor and classmates in Spanish course

ttl3

Some staffs in Department of Chemical Engineering and Environmental Technology

After the class, I took part in a latin dancing class every Friday night. It was such a special and wonderful class when at first there were only three Vietnamese students, but my dance teacher, Amaury Frometa, taught us with his passion and enthusiasm. My dancing class then became a cozy home that help us find relaxation and connection that we never find anywhere in the world.

ttl4

Some memories in my dancing class

One more experience is getting to know some new friends in different part of the world. We are different in color, language, and culture but we have in common at one thing that we all love Valladolid. I was grateful with some Tunisian girls who cooked for us various delicious food. I thought they can win high prize if they participate the Masterchef show.

I also want to give my special thanks to some friends in Papua New Guinea, South Africa and Europe who help me a lot in the class. Besides, I really admired some friends in laboratories that are Honami (a girl from Japan that is optimistic and independent) and Alina (a girl from Cuba that is like a professional dancer).ttl5

Some memories with my friends in UVa

Overall, the 5-month-course in UVa has given me full of valuable experience. UVa is truly an amazing place that bring me close to a new world where I become more mature and more confident to create a better life.

Leave a comment